Venice - 1
Venice, capital of northern Italy’s Veneto region, is built on more than 100 small islands in a mars
1. Venice
Venice is the capital of the Veneto region.In 2009, there were 270,098 people residing in Venice comune (the population estimate of 272,000 inhabitants includes the population of the whole Comune of Venezia around 60,000 in the historic city of Venice (Centro storico) 176,000 in Terraferma (the Mainland), mostly in the large frazioni (roughly equivalent to parishes or wards in other countries) of Mestre and Marghera 31,000 live on other islands in the lagoon).Together with Padua and Treviso, the city is included in the Padua Treviso Venice Metropolitan Area (PATREVE), with a total population of 1,600,000.PATREVE is only a statistical metropolitan area without any degree of autonomy.
2. Piazza San Marco
Piazza San Marco often known in English as the St Mark Square, is the principal public square of Venice, Italy, where it is generally known just as the Piazza (la Piazza).All other urban spaces in the city (except the Piazzetta and the Piazzale Roma) are called campi (fields).The Piazzetta (the little Piazza) is an extension of the Piazza towards the lagoon in its south east corner (see plan).The two spaces together form the social, religious and political centre of Venice and are commonly considered together.This article relates to both of them.
3. Saint Mark Basilica
The Patriarchal Cathedral Basilica of Saint Mark (officially known in Italian as the Basilica Cattedrale Patriarcale di San Marco and commonly known as Saint Mark Basilica) is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Venice, northern Italy.It is the most famous of the city churches and one of the best known examples of Italo Byzantine architecture.It lies at the eastern end of the Piazza San Marco, adjacent and connected to the Doge Palace.Originally it was the chapel of the Doge, and has only been the city cathedral since 1807, when it became the seat of the Patriarch of Venice, archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Venice, formerly at San Pietro di Castello.
4. Grand Canal
The Grand Canal (Italian Canal Grande, Venetian Canal asso) is a canal in Venice, Italy.It forms one of the major water traffic corridors in the city.Public transport is provided by water buses (Italian vaporetti) and private water taxis, and many tourists explore the canal by gondola.At one end, the canal leads into the lagoon near the Santa Lucia railway station and the other end leads into Saint Mark Basin in between, it makes a large reverse S shape through the central districts (sestieri) of Venice.It is 3,800 m long, 30 90 m wide, with an average depth of five meters (16.5 ft).
5. Doge Palace
The Doge Palace (Italian Palazzo Ducale) is a palace built in Venetian Gothic style, and one of the main landmarks of the city of Venice, northern Italy.The palace was the residence of the Doge of Venice, the supreme authority of the Republic of Venice, opening as a museum in 1923.Today, it is one of the 11 museums run by the Fondazione Musei Civici di Venezia.In 2010, it was visited by 1,358,186 people.

  • Test your English Language
  • Comics of the Day
  • Amazing Natural Places in the World
  • Best Black Mehndi Designs
  • Zodiac Signs That Will be Successful in 2015
  • Deadliest Diseases in human history
  • Rules to play Pocket Billiards
  • Amazing Pictures
  • Tips to Feng Shui Your Home
  • Animal Themed Nail Art Designs
  • The Most Beautiful Views in the World
  • Most Beautiful Flowers In The World
  • Shlok Consultants